Government Structures

Government Structures

South Africa is a constitutional democracy with a three-tier system of government and an independent judiciary. The national, provincial and local levels of government all have legislative and executive authority in their own spheres, and are defined in the Constitution as distinctive, interdependent and interrelated.

Local Government

Local government is one of the three spheres of government together with the provincial and the national spheres. Local government consists of municipalities, which deliver many of the services people use in their daily lives.

National Government

The National Government of South Africa is comprised of Parliament, Cabinet and various Departments. These components carry out functions as outlined in the Constitution and in legislation enacted by Parliament.

Municipalities & Districts

The whole of South Africa is divided into local municipalities. Each municipality has a council where decisions are made and municipal officials and staff who implement the work of the municipality.

Support us

Become a Member today and help support us to reach more people